Around-ear headphones for around £100

Discussion in 'Full Size Headphones' started by ChaoticMan, Oct 23, 2010.

1. ChaoticMan

ChaoticMan New Member

Hey there, I'm a newbie when looking for headphones and have been slightly daunted by the sheer choice of headphones, and their various technical details.

I would also like a pair of closed-back, around ear (Circumaural?) headphones. The thing is, I don't know which pair would be best for myself. The first and only pair of non in-ear headphones I had were the Sennheiser HD201, but unfortunately they hurt my head after wearing them for 10 minutes, plus the cable was way too long for portable use.

So, in short I'd like to spend around £100 (can go above if necessary by around £30-50) for Circumaural headphones that would be used with a 5th gen iPod, and potentially the FIIO E5 amp. I would be using it for travelling, i.e on the train and tube, so it would have to be good at cancelling out the noise and minimal, if at all, noise-leakage and a short length of wire (i.e 1.5m). I listen to different genres of music, i.e I'd listen to Linkin Park, Ne-Yo, then I'd listen to the Prodigy etc, so a pair of headphones that would be able to cope with a variety of different genres would be good. Plus it'd would have to be comfy as I would be using it for a prolonged period of time, so something unlike the Sennheiser HD201 :D

I was looking at the Denon AH-D1001 but I heard the bass wasn't great at all. Also, I was looking at the PL11 SoundMagic in-ear headphones as an accompanying pair of headphones for the circumaural headphones, but again I heard the bass was poor. I realise a lot of this would be subjective, but any help would be greatly appreciated! :D

2. Shaun-HiFi

Shaun-HiFi Administrator Staff Member

Around ear headphones for £100

Hey Chaoticman... welcome to the forum.

Yep, there is plenty of choice with headphones. You can get headphones for just about any musical tastes and application these days.