Best headphones under 150, again but slightly different

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by john_dikeman, Jan 16, 2012.

1. john_dikeman

john_dikeman New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new here and I read a few threads similar to this one however I realize recommendations can be very different based on your listening needs so I thought I'd start a new one.

I am looking for the best headphones under 150. Will probably even try scrounging around ebay etc for a good used deal (or if any of you have a pair for sale).

I am a musician that listens mostly to CD's on a Technics SL-XP150 however also on my computer. I listen largely to jazz and also spend a lot of time listening to my own recordings to figure out what's worth trying to release, etc... Here are two examples to show the extremes of what I'm listening to. My main concern is getting the most accurate and detailed sound which can be hard with such dense music. Of course, I'd like it to sound rich and full but not artificial.

Side A by Cactus Truck 2 on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

It has happened before... by GJ Dikeman on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

Any recommendations are most welcome and sorry again if this post seems redundant. Also, I am not averse to getting an amp, though at the moment I'd probably just go for a CMoy. Comments there are also welcome.

thanks,
    john

2. dalethorn

dalethorn Active Member

Here are some

Open Back Headphones

If you scroll down, you'll see the Beyerdynamic DT990 and Audio Technica ATH-AD700, which look like a match.

3. john_dikeman

john_dikeman New Member

Hey Dalethorn: thanks for the quick response. Just curious why you'd recommend the open back models as opposed to closed cans. I was mostly considering the Audio Technica ATH_M50 or Beyerdynamic DT 770 or 880(if I could find one cheap enough). Is there a main difference that caused you to recommended the above over those?

4. john_dikeman