"Cheap" IEMs Decision

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by ongy2k3, Sep 13, 2010.

1. ongy2k3

ongy2k3 New Member

Hi guys,

Basicly I'm looking at buying some new headphones before University starts. I'm fed up with cheap, tacky headphones that hurt my ears, produce poor sound and break after a month. It's time I purchase a set of real mens earphones.

However, I'm having a bit of trouble deciding on which IEMs to buy. You see, I'm certainly no expert when it comes to techincal specifications and what to look out for. The only thing I understand is the price.

I'm looking to spend no more than £30 (that's actually all I have in my bank) so as you can imagine my selection is limited. After browsing the site these are what I've found:

- SoundMAGIC PL11
    - SoundMAGIC PL21
    - SoundMAGIC PL30
    - Sennhesier CX300-II

What are peoples experiences with these earphones?

The review for the PL11s sounds promising but as a noob I have no idea how they compare to the CX300-IIs. it sounds like (from the Top 10 listings) that the PL11s are as good as the CX300s, so are the Sennheiser's worth it considering they're rivalled by such a low costing alternative?

I imagine the PL21s are better than the PL11s, as are the PL30s better than the PL21s. If so, how much better? Is it worth investing the couple of extra quid or will I not be able to tell the difference?

Can somebody please help me? Help is greatly appreaciated!

EDIT: I think it's between the PL11 & PL21s for me. Reading reviews from around the internet seems to have leaned me towards SoundMAGIC's offerings. The PL30s are apparently not that much different from the PL21 (with some preferring the sound on the cheaper alternative). The PL11s are "as good as the CX300s" but is this in comparison to an earlier revision, rather than the CX300-II?

Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  2. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator

Hi Ongy2k3,