Classy Over Ears Sub-£100

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by Honest Rob, Nov 6, 2011.

1. Honest Rob

Honest Rob New Member

Hi,

My trusty Sennheiser HD-515s have finally started to fall apart after several faithful years, and as a headphone novice, I'm after a bit of advice in regard to what I should replace them with. Can I find anything better within my budget?

These will be solely for home use, so I'm not completely ruling out open-backs, especially if the sound quality is significantly better. The missus would be a lot happier though if they weren't gonna be real loud. I was considering the Grado SR60s, but was concerned by the sound leakage (Do they leak any more than my HD-515s?)

I'd be using them mainly on my old 5th gen iPod classic, and occasionally on a Denon DM31. I'd like to get away with not using an amp, but if it was cheap/small enough and improved the sound quality considerably, I'd (maybe) consider one. I'm not particularly bothered with bass, and would prefer a brightish sound with some nice clarity. I generally listen to indie, soul, and electronica stuff.

And I'm asking for all of this for under £100 smackers! Help!

PS Love the site, keep up the good work!

Rob

2. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator

Hi Honest Rob

Something in me really hopes you are a second hand car dealer!:)

The Grados are particularly loud even for open backs - they would be a little louder than the Sennheisers. The SR60i are almost certainly the best sounding headphone for under £100 - if you want to go open back it might be worth the little bit of grief you may get. There would be no need for an amp so other than bothering your better half a little they should be perfect.

I would probably go for these closed backs -

Denon AH-D1100 Closed Back Stereo Headphones (AHD1100)
    £99.95

They are quite impressive for the price - the build quality is also excellent.

Audio-Technica ATH-M50 Closed Monitor Headphones Coiled Cable
    £134.95