Earphone buying advice

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by MansfieldMatt, Aug 13, 2012.

1. MansfieldMatt

MansfieldMatt New Member

Hi forum!
    I'm after some buying advice for in-ear headphones. I've been using a pair of Sony in-ears for many many years now but they've given up the ghost and so I'm in the market for some new ones.

While the Sony headphones have been fine I want to upgrade to something a lot better but there are so many choices I'm rather lost.

So, what do I need. I predominantly use my headphones in two scenarios:
    1) Sat in front of my computer for long hours
    2) While running loud wood working equipment under ear defenders

So while sat in front of my computer I want really good audio quality. While running the wood working equipment sound insulation becomes as important. They also need to be pretty rugged and dust resistant in the wood working environment.

I drive my headphones from either my MacBook Air or my iPhone.

I predominantly listen to drum&bass, dubstep, trance, etc. but my music tastes stray far and wide to Queen, Rage Against the Machine through to jazz and some classical.

In terms of budget I'm flexible. I have taken a look at the ACS T1 Live headphones as I felt the custom moulding would be good in the wood working environment for sound insulation but I worry that I would be paying over the odds for my needs.

I also worry that answering the phone with a custom moulded headphone would be a pain taking them in and out all the time. That said I only really get about 2 to 6 calls in a working day so it isn't the end of the world.

Ideally I would love to have a set of headphones with built in microphone for iPhone hands free but this is only a minor requirement.