Headphones for Ambient Electronic Music

Discussion in 'Full Size Headphones' started by albroun, Oct 14, 2011.

1. albroun

albroun New Member

I am looking for (over-ear, not in-ear) headphones (less than £200). I listen to electronic ambient music and therefore need:

1. A big open spacious sound
    2. The ability to handle ultra-deep bass with depth, precision and clarity and without boominess.

At present I have Sennheiser HD555 which give a nice natural sound, reasonably open and spacious but certainly could be a lot better, and dont handle the ultra deep bass. Also, Sennheiser HD380 Pro which handle ultra-deep bass quite well (and have very sharp treble), but have a poor mid-range and sound rather nasal and compressed.

Any advice appreciated.

2. M Vortex

M Vortex New Member

I'm no expert but have been frequenting these forums so hope to help.

To me it seems you want a rich and open sounding soundstage in closed back headphones.

So I'll quote from what I've read:

Ultrasone HFI-580 Closed-Back Foldable Headphones (HFI 580)
    £119.95

"Closed backs - As a rule, Ultrasone headphones have a very 3D sound with great soundstage, they sound quite open." -RobinHiFi

Or for more public use;

"Audio-Technica ATH-M50 Closed Monitor Headphones Coiled Cable
    £134.95

The M50 are very accurate and sturdy and probably suit wanting to use them anywhere a bit more than the excellent HFI 780." -RobinHiFi

For a very accurate bass, and overall studio quality: