Headphones recommendations for around £100

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by liamgaul93, Dec 21, 2013.

1. liamgaul93

liamgaul93 New Member

Ok I'm a complete noob so please bare with me as I'd hugely appreciate your advice.

I'm looking to get a pair of new headphones and I'm looking at over ear closed cans.
    I'll mostly be listening on the go around London, on the tube but also at home and the library so would need something portable-ish and that's why I'm going for closed backs. I would consider on ears too as they generally look better but my thinking is the closed will give better noise isolation and be more comfortable?

I will mostly be listening to music off of my iPhone 5S but sometimes my MacBook Pro too and MP3 files @ 320kbps as I don't really have the space for lossless files.

I listen to a lot of hip-hop and electronic music at the moment but listen to all sorts, rock and indie bands, alternative, punk, reggae anything from Jack White to The Smiths but more of hip-hop and electronic at the moment. Probably easier to list what I don't listen to which is pretty much only classical, heavy metal and crappy chart pop.

So I'm looking for an all rounder really but not something that's lacking in bass.
    Will occasionally listen to films as well so needs to be comfortable to wear for up to 3hrs max, will not really listen for any longer than that.

I have some SoundMagic E10s at the moment and I'm going to get some comply foam tips for those. These seem to get extremely good reviews and I was just wondering if you think some full cans @ £100ish will sound that much better than these?