How to Read a Frequency Graph

Discussion in 'Headphone & Earphone General Discussion' started by lorenzo22, Nov 8, 2012.

1. lorenzo22

lorenzo22 New Member

Hi, I'm new to the forum.

I read many good reviews about the Sennheiser PX 200 II headphones.
    I found the frequency response graph here (under the tab "Specs"):
    Sennheiser PX200II

I know some dips in the highs are normal, but to be sure I would like to know how to interpret the deep dip at 7 kHz.
    Do I notice any sort of lacking sound at 7 kHz?

Thanks.

2. dalethorn

dalethorn Active Member

I have several of this headphone, and the highs are soft and rolled off some, but I have not observed a large dip in the area of 7 khz with one channel or the other. But there is some small variation between samples. The overall sound of the PX200II is greatly improved with EQ, i.e. the 'rock' EQ setting on Apple players.

3. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator

I'm not a scientist so you will have to excuse the lack of supporting information to this but this is how I understand the reason headphones (and speakers) do not have a flat output for maximum accuracy.

As human beings our ears and brains are tuned for our environment (presumably by thousands of years of evolution) so that some frequencies stick out and other frequencies (past 20Khz) are inaudiable. If you were making a record and were therefore EQing the music and removing pops, clicks and other unwanted sounds you want to hear exactly what is there, good or bad, so you can change it. Once this work has been done, record released and now someone is listening to it with headphones there is no need to accentuate all parts of the frequency range equally to the detriment of the all over sound.