IEM around £100, please help

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by dzsefi, Oct 6, 2010.

1. dzsefi

dzsefi New Member

Hi guys,

I would like some advice about purchasing an in-ear 'phone around the £100 price range. I've been using an UE super.fi 5 for the last two or three years, and I was quite satisfied with it. Now I'm looking for a bit cheaper model, which might be on par with the UE sound-wise. Is that possible?
    I would use it mostly with my iPhone, so a bult-in mic would be a welcome addition as well. I listen to all kinds of music, from acoustic jazz to drum and bass or rock. I've come up with these IEMs so far:
    - Klipsch image s4i
    - Shure SE115m+
    - Audeo PFE 022
    - Audeo PFE 122

Apart from the accessories given, what is the difference between the two Phonak Audeo versions? Which one would you recommend from these four? As a university student, I'm on a tight budget, so price is an important factor too.

Thanks!
    edit: Another thing, is it possible to order from Hungary? I can't seem to find it on the list of countries on checkout.

Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  2. Shaun-HiFi

Shaun-HiFi Administrator Staff Member

IEM earphone around £100

Both the Klipsch S4i and Shure SE115m+ would be a significant step down from the Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro. The Super.fi 5 Pro is an dual driver balanced armature earphone and those two are dynamic earphones. It's a great shame that Ultimate Ears are no longer making this model. The nearest replacement is the Westome UM2.

I would definitely recommend the Phonak Audeo PFE 022. The PFE 022 is the same earphone inside as the 122, but you do not get Comply Foam tips, ear guides, carry pouch or black/grey filters. The only acoustic filter supplied with the 022 is the new green filter, which gives a more punchy bass response (it's my personal favourite).

3. Shaun-HiFi

Shaun-HiFi Administrator Staff Member

Shipping earphones to Hungary