IEM / Full Size

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by Ricka, Oct 26, 2010.

1. Ricka

Ricka New Member

I'm pretty new to the world of decent headphones and I have a few questions..

I currently own the UE super fi 5 pros and the Senn HD 595.The difference between the two is pretty big and I'd like to understand a bit more about why that is so that I know what I'm doing when the time to upgrade comes. It's only so long before the temptation for something better gets me.

My UEs sound fantastic for electronic music.. really nice, warm and exciting bass. Guitar music sounds restrained by comparison.. the sound seems much more narrow and never excites me in the way the electronic music does.

My 595s seem to excel where the UEs suffer. Guitars and mids in general just jump out at you and never sound restrained. Electronic music still sounds good but not quite as exciting as the UEs and the bass isn't quite as pronounced.

I suppose the key thing I want to know is whether or not this is purely a style/sound thing between different phones or it's a price bracket thing. Can I find something that ticks all the boxes with both types of music or will an increased bass always hold back the guitar side of things? I'll be looking at upgrading the full size first (amp = iBasso D2 Boa).

Rick

2. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator

Hi Ricka,

The HD595 is an excellent headphone for it's price, it is balanced warm and relaxed sounding without too much colouration, giving quite a flat frequency response. The Super fi 5 pro is a dual balanced armature headphone which gives a really curved frequency response lacking in the mids whilst bright at the top and emphasising bass response.