In-Ear Headphones for Classical Enthusiast

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by Chas, Jul 14, 2010.

1. Chas

Chas New Member

Hello and greetings from a new joiner to the Forum.

I would welcome thoughts on suitable in-ear earphones, to be used with an iPod. The output volume from the iPad is lower than ideal. My typical listening is classical music, including vocal and chamber, so I'm interested in the best quality sound, and don't need a pounding bass.

I find standard Apple ear buds very uncomfortable, so comfort is high on the wishlist, together with affordability. I already own Sennheiser PXC450s, which are great for home use, but now want something to use on the move.

Would Beyerdynamic DTX60s fit the bill? Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Chas

2. ROB_GTR

ROB_GTR New Member

Hiya Chas,

im no expert but i have been doing my research and depending "entirely" on your budget depends what you can get!

i have just bought the Phonak PFE 112's with additional green filters for added bass (still not massively bassy but they have a nice punch if the track is of high quality!)

the overall sound quality is near perfect and in my opinion would suit your classical taste fantastically well.

only got mine today so been giving them a hammering (including now) and i am impressed! they are extremely comfy and after 4 hours i still have no idea they are in my luggs!

i got the FiiO E5 Amp to go with and the Ibasso 30 pin crossover cable for iphone / ipod

if you look at my post in the experts advice section i explain a little more about them and what i thought initially!

hope that helps a little but im sure the experts will be along soon to advice in much more detail and with a hell of alot of knowledge to boot

Rob

3. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator

Hi Chas and Hi to Rob as well,