In severe need of new headphones (budget 100£/150$)

Discussion in 'Full Size Headphones' started by Jaster, Oct 22, 2011.

1. Jaster

Jaster New Member

Oct 22, 2011
    Hello there,
    My old headphones (Gamecom Plantronics 367) just broke after about a year of usage and they vere amazing considering the price (25£ with postage), but now I need some new ones.
    I have a budget of about 100£ in total, since I'm a student so money is hard to come by (I'm gonna have to go without lunch for about a month to afford this, but it's worth it.. I haven't had music in months)
    So my question is, what should I get?
    Here are my priorities in order:
    #1 sound quality. If I can get some with better sound than the Gamecom ones I had, I will be in heaven.
    #2 durability. I really want them to not.. you know.. break easily. I bring my headphones with me at almost all times, so they should be able to handle some wear and tear
    #3 Value. Getting more for less is always nice, my old headphones were absolutely SUPERB value
    #4 Size. I have a thing for massive headphones.. there's just something so amazing about big headphones
    #5 Microphone. My old headphones had a microphone because I used to be a gamer, but since I moved I don't have anything to play on, so this is a very low priority and just a convenience for if I ever want to record some songs. (but I think I'd buy a separate microphone in that case)

My main genre is Metalcore (I've heard something about headphones can be better for different genres) and bass/thump/punch is my fetish.

I've done some research and the best I've come up with are the Cresyn C720H, SennHeiser HD 518, beyerdynamic DT 440, Lindy Premium Hi-fi Headphones and SennHeiser HD558

All suggestions are more than greatly appreciated!
    Cheers, Jaster