Novice User Help Please

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by chipper1378, Jun 19, 2013.

1. chipper1378

chipper1378 New Member

Hello all,

I am by no means an expert on headphones, and I probably can't tell the difference between the good/great/incredible ones anyway. That being said, I do know when a pair sounds better than my Apple earbuds...

I used to have the Beats Studios, but I'm in the market for a new pair. I've heard countless times that I can buy headphones that are "twice as good for half the price," but I didn't realize how many were on the market. It's a tad overwhelming.

I listen to a wide variety of music as does seemingly everyone else, though I tend to stick to rap and rock (not hardcore), and I don't listen to techno, dubstep, house, heavy metal or any of that.

In my hunt for headphones, comfort and sound quality are key. I want them to be very comfortable and sound good to my novice ears (that requirement won't be hard to satisfy). They must be over-ear (not earbuds or on-ear). I'll be using them at home and while I'm walking to class, so nothing too extreme. I suppose I'd prefer closed vs. open for less noise leakage. I don't know much about noise-cancelling or wireless technologies and if they take away from sound quality, but if they don't and they don't jack up the price they seem like cool add-ons. I'm looking to spend $200-250 US dollars, though I can go up to $300 if it's absolutely necessary - I doubt it will be, as I can't see how the extra $50-100 will improve quality to the point that my inexperienced ears can tell the difference.

My fate is in your hands. Thank you!

2. dalethorn

dalethorn Active Member

This will be perfect - adjustable bass and all - one of the most prestigious manufacturers too. Don't look at the price shown here with VAT included - that will be subtracted out when shipped to the U.S. Any more questions?

Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro Closed Back Studio Headphones

3. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator