Pair of neutrals under £100

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by charlie121, Sep 26, 2012.

1. charlie121

charlie121 New Member

Hi, I'm new to this audiophile world, have not tried many headphones, but am very fond of it.

I am planning to buy a set of new headphones mainly for monitoring. I would be going for a closed back.

My main aim is to find a pair headphones with good detail and clarity (or being able to separate different instruments, pinpointing them?) and also a neutral sound signature. I will be using them to listen to symphonies and concertos, also possibly some live performances.

The catch is that since I'm now a student, my budget is pretty tight.

I have shortlisted a few headphones from my research.
    -KRK KNS 8400 (details and neutrality)
    -Sony MDR V-600/7506 (from being a pair of common studio monitors)
    -ATH M-50 (lots of recommendations)
    -Shure SRH440/840 (neutrality, not sure about details)
    -Sennheiser HD 280 pro
    -Any others?

I'd like to hear opinions of the community on the comparisons of the headphones, if they are good or appropriate for my purpose.

Thank you.

PS I've also read another thread on a recommendation of the GMP 8.35d but I would really like to keep my budget below £100.

Last edited: Sep 26, 2012
  2. dalethorn

dalethorn Active Member

If the ATH M50 is getting lots of recommendations on detail, clarity, and neutrality, I'd find a new source for recommendations. I bought a new white M50, and while I like it for some music, it is anything but those three things.

The GMP 8.35D is close to neutral but a bit dark. The Soundmagic HP100 is closer to neutral, but more expensive than the 8.35D. The Beyerdynamic 770 Pro is good for a lot of purposes but not really neutral. The Shure 940 is very close to neutral if a tiny bit bright, but again, more expensive.