Recommendation for IEM's Sub £80. Replacement for SE210's?

Discussion in 'Portable Headphones & Earphones' started by Asura000, Oct 12, 2011.

1. Asura000

Asura000 New Member

Oct 12, 2011
    Hi all,

New to the forum. I am a frequent "traveler" and always listen to my music when out and about, on my Samsung Galaxy S (with a app which has a quite good EQ system). I've been using my Shure SE210's for well over 2-3 years (bought them for around £80ish?), but the fact the extension cables I buy for it keeps going funny and the foam earbuds are becoming unusable and keeps coming off my ear now with the slights pull, no matter how hard I press, I've come to a bit of a crossroads.
    I've either got to buy new tips for my SE210 or while I'm at it, look for a whole new IEM's after this many years to see if there's anything for around the same price point which blows the SE210's out the water for general sound quality.

I must admit, I'm no audiophile, but appreciate good music and listen to it a lot when I'm out, which is pretty frequently (going to and from work, gym, etc). I listen mainly to blues, rock/ballads (Gary Moore, Joe Bonamassa, Muse, Killers, AC/DC, Hendrix etc) to classical, to ambient to even on occasions dance and R&B. I'm not sure exactly sure what Im looking for in terms of bass, mids and highs. All I can say is I'm no bass head, but I do like good bass to feel the music but not overpower it, and nice clarity and detailed highs but not ear bleeding and very nice mids. I'm not sure if I require "neutral" or "coloring" IEM's, but I want something to enjoy my music to full extent and feel like I'm listening to the music there, not listening to them through earphones (if anyone get's what I mean? :-\). Good isolation and comfortable is also a plus. Bluntly I want the "best of the best" (if theres even such a thing for IEM's) for the price range.