Sennheiser HD 265 linear headphones

Discussion in 'Headphone & Earphone General Discussion' started by citizenpaul, Oct 20, 2012.

1. citizenpaul

citizenpaul New Member

Hi I'm new to this.
    Need to replace above which are 15 years old, cost then £150, no idea of tec. spec.
    Used for classical music at home, replacements must be similar ie closed back circumaural.No wireless or noise reduction needed but must be good at blocking ambient noise. Used with same age Arcam Alpha 9 amp.

These old ones have been pretty good but I suspect standards have improved over the last 15 years. Looks not important but comfort is. Budget between £200 and £350 if absolutely necessary.

Also would a seperate headphone amp really produce a great improvement over the Arcam amp.
    Thanks for any advice.

2. dalethorn

dalethorn Active Member

I can't think of a Sennheiser in your price range that's suitable, whether on this list or not. But the items I can think of that are comfy and isolate well, plus have good sound with good bass support like the 265, for classical music, are the Soundmagic HP100, the German Maestro 8.35D, and possibly the ATH M50, although that last one is marginal. Of these three the HP100 offers by far the best comfort. There may be other items more suitable here that I'm not familiar with. My preference is for a smooth, even response so that voices and instruments are reproduced in their proper perspectives.

Closed Back Headphones

3. quadpatch

quadpatch New Member