Some advice required..

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by Trunkz, Sep 26, 2010.

1. Trunkz

Trunkz New Member

Morning,

I'm looking at getting a set of cans for use with my iPhone. This will be my first set of cans, as I've always used in-ear headphones. (First set were Goldring GX200s, then Shure SE110s till I lost those in Dubai) I've been recommended a set of cans as they give a more natural sound. Anyways;

1. Will be mainly for iPhone 4 use. (So low impendence?)
    2. I'm a university student, so will use it to walking from dorms to uni etc..
    3. It wont be for bassy use. (I dont listen to rap, dnb etc..) But you need to still hear that bottom end, otherwise the music will sound 'flat'.
    4. Price-range.. Around £50. (Depending on if my first student loans instalment arrives soon, I can bump it up to the £100-ish mark; so perhaps a second recommendation based on this revised budget as well?)

Hope I havent been too naive with what I'm asking, and what reality will produce lol.

Thanks,
    Laith.

2. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator

Hi Laith,

There are not really any headphones that would suit your requirements at this £50 price point. You require an impressive pair of cans that will out do what you have already experienced with in ears which means you either need to compromise or up your budget - I know there are hard choices to be made as education is really expensive these days. There are some great headphones at under a £100 but if there was a comfy natural sounding Circumaural closed back that was easily recommended then everyone would probably own that model (manufacturers take note!).