Some help please

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by AverageJoe, Aug 7, 2012.

1. AverageJoe

AverageJoe New Member

Hi everybody
    I need help in choosing a pair of headphones to use with my Cowon J3 music player.
    I’ve got no experience or knowledge about headphones as I’ve always used ear buds which are rubbish as they brake very easily, so i need a bit of help.
    I’ve made a list of requirements that they would need to fulfil

Closed Back - No sound leakage, I want to listen to my music without being nagged at to turn the volume down by my family whilst they’re watching TV.

Comfortable for long periods of time

Great Build Quality (don’t want them falling to pieces anytime soon)

I’ve already looked at the list of closed back headphones, but I don’t know what headphones is “right” for me

My Budget is up to £800, and if they come with a case then it would be a bonus as most of the time I work away from home but it’s not a requirement

I listen to Heavy Metal/Metalcore music, examples: Machine Head, Megadeth, Iron Maiden, Fear Factory, As I Lay Dying etc
    It’s also worth mentioning that most of my music is in FLAC lossless but some of it is in 256kbps mp3.

I’ve made a list of those which I’m interested in, and if there are any other contenders then please suggest them to me.

Beyerdynamic DT770 PRO
    Audio-Technica ATH-M50
    AKG K 550
    Beyerdynamic T70p
    Beyerdynamic T5p

Thanks in Advance.
    Joe

2. dalethorn

dalethorn Active Member