Upgrade from Westone UM1

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by alvarog01, May 28, 2013.

1. alvarog01

alvarog01 New Member

Hello,

i am a very happy owner of Westone UM1 since 2006. They costed me about 100 euro but IMO was the best cash i have ever spent on anything. I love them and use on everything from music listening on noisy environments, jogging or gym activities, and of course on music production (i am an amateur guitar player and musician).

I am so glad to have discovered the IEM earphones' world that i am planning to get some major upgrade on them. However, the fact that i cannot try before those expensive shure, westone, etc. models that costs 4 or 5 times more, frightens me about being seduced by some kind of fake "hype".

So, according to the use i do on them... Does the leap from UM1 to Audéo PFE 232 worth the money? I also would appreciate comments from any user that had gone through this way.

Please excuse me for any language mistakes, English is not my native language.

Regards,

Last edited: May 28, 2013
  2. Shaun-HiFi

Shaun-HiFi Administrator Staff Member

The UM1 was indeed an excellent choice. I am a big fan of the way Westone earphones are built. Being made for stage use they are built to last.

The UM1 has a single balanced armature driver. Moving up to dual or triple drivers will give you a significant improvement in the range of frequencies the earphone can accurately reproduce, especially bass notes. It's not just marketing hype - you will hear a significant improvement with an earphone like the PFE 232, Westone UM3X, Shure SE535, etc.

One word of warning - Phonak have just stopped producing earphones, so the PFE 232 may be difficult to get support with in the long term.

3. alvarog01

alvarog01 New Member

Hi, thanks for advice. I agree with you on all your points.