Very low budget headphones - opinions

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by adriank2200, Aug 19, 2011.

1. adriank2200

adriank2200 New Member

Hello! My name is Adrian and I live in Romania. In my country incomes are pretty low in general. The minimum salary is 109 £ in hand per month, while the medium one is around 310 £ per month. I am a student (at present time) and I've always looked for the cheapest things to buy in general, not just headphones and you can guess why.

I may not be an audiophile but I am tired of lack of sound quality. If you have little time to read my post, jump to the very last paragraph, because the next ones are my background experience (blah blahs...).

First of all, my audio experience begins in 2003 when I bought my first computer which came with a pair of speakers which lack bass. Although I played a lot with software equalizers I learned they have limitations and they just couldn't play sound below 200Hz.
    I bought my first pair of headphones (portable open) for exactly 1 $. They were so cheap I said I'll give it a try. The sound was loud and the quality was below average with emphasized mids, not so loud highs and the bass I was hearing was in fact low mids, mabie as low as 130-150Hz (from Winamp eq I deduced). But they were pretty robust and served me for 3 years and I has happy with them. They still work today but the right earpiece is 2x louder as the left one.
    In 2005 I bought a scan radio for 3 £ which came with some earphones with volume control which I found very useful. Sound was OK, little bass, but it was there. Lifetime: ~3-4 years.
    In 2006 I bought a Sony Ericsson K700 which came with a pair of good earphones. Sound still is balanced, bass is present, but the higher the volume, the worse the bass would creak. Major drawback: it can only be used with the phone - custom connector. SE K750 also has good earphones :) and custom connector :(