Vintage Headphones - reviews - your advice

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by GroMac, Feb 13, 2011.

1. GroMac

GroMac New Member

Hello everyone,
    To make it short, I would just like to get some info on a few vintage headphones. I surfed the internet for a couple of hours and I desperatly seeking for reliable reviews.
    -the Prinzsound 808vs
    -Lancer Maeden Micro 2 Vintage Headphones BNIB 1970 s
    -Vintage Wharfedale DD 1 Headphones
    -Akai ASE-22
    -Pioneer SE30A (this one I found a few things but I wondered if you had an opinion.)

Also, but less important, would you be able to identify those headphones ? (Vintage Retro Phillips Stereo Headphones on eBay (end time 13-Feb-11 16:57:25 GMT)) the photo can be found in the lower part of the page.

Thank you very much,

Tim

2. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator

Hi GroMac

I have no personal experience with any of these models.

Are you a collector of vintage headphones? Sounds like it - Do you think we should have a vintage headphone section on the forum?

I will have a look for reviews of these and drop any links I find back here:)

3. GroMac

GroMac New Member

Hey Robin,

Thanks for replying. I guess I could call myself a collector but as I just started hunting down those old and unknown headphones, that title should not mistaken you in thinking I am an expert. Meanwhile, I do think that with the impressive "come back to fashion" of the 70's/80's style in the last decade some people have and will get interested in those authentic headphones that not only are symbols of a flourishing period but also surprisingly good musical items. So I guess a dedicated sectionon your forum would be a good idea.
    If I find some info about the headphones I was talking about, I'll post it aswell.

All the best,

Tim

4. RobinHiFi

I'll Have a look around this week and see what I can dig up. If you and other forum members think you would like a vintage area let me know:)

5. kelvinmunson