Which IEM's for me?

Discussion in 'Portable Headphones & Earphones' started by jmsellars1, May 19, 2012.

1. jmsellars1

jmsellars1 New Member

Hi guys, I'm new here and was looking for advice on in ear monitors.

I need some to be used mainly for rehearsal and possibly to be used as earplugs for concerts but they will also be used for some semi-serious recording.

My main concerns are to find something:

- With good noise isolation. I use alpine pro earplugs at the moment, if I can find something as effective as those, that would be great. I'm a drummer in a metal band so this part is important.
    - Flat frequency response. (Or as flat as possible at this budget) I have been using my Klipsch Image One headphones for recording/mixing but as great as they sound for listening to music, they have too much bass for recording/mixing.
    - Comfortable. Not a huge concern but I would like to be able to wear them for 4 hours at a time without being in discomfort.

Lastly, if I could find something relatively low profile that would be great but it's not important.

Ideally I would like to find something in the £20-40 range as I don't need custom moulds or ultra high sound quality but I will consider suggestions up to £80-100 too.

Thanks in advance for any help, I am new to in ear monitoring so if anyone has any additional advice/information on the subject, it would be appreciated.

2. RobinHiFi

RobinHiFi Super Moderator

Hi jmsellars1

Your budget restricts you a little bit but I have some great tips which fit well within what you are looking at spending. IEM's are great for drummers, I use some ACS T1s which are amazing but sadly very pricey - Here are some great Pro options without going crazy with the cash.

SoundMAGIC PL30 In-Ear Sound Isolating Earphones in Black
    £29.99 - Very impressive for the price, these get used by bands and are also used by one of the UK News channels for guests and guest presenters!